How do people acclimatize?

When I buy something new, it doesn’t take very long for me to get very used to this particular thing. I felt fortunate about this because it means that in my life I’ve had to make a choice. Either I keep exposing myself to new stimulus (buying new shit) or, I find/do things in my life that don’t have this acclimatization effect attached to them.

But it got me thinking about how this rate at which I become acclimatized to something might be different for different people. Does the rate change by the classification of stimuli? Does the rate itself differ among people? What does that mean for their life decisions and happiness? What if I have a very long acclimatization rate? Does this affect my purchasing or materialistic decisions in a moral sense? Can I be blamed for seeking (or not) continuous happiness through these means? Are there product attributes that effect the rate? Is it expectation based or hard attribute based? How does it change? Do you simply one day stop caring or is it a linear decline?

There are several ways in which you can quantitatively measure these effects too. The idea is that when someone sees something, minute emotional, involuntary reactions always occur. These reactions always contain changes in your sweat patterns which can be monitored through the conductivity of your skin. This is referred to as Galvanic Skin Response (GSR).

Send me a note if you know of anyone doing research in this area!

Leave a comment

Filed under All posts, Thoughts, studies and science

Leave a Reply

