The simplest and most difficult

“Nothing can work me damage except myself; the harm that I sustain I carry about with me, and never am a real sufferer but by my own fault.”
– St. Bernard

The above quote is actually an excerpt from Ralph Waldo Emerson’s The Spiritual Emerson. It’s a similar argument that has been echoed by many an intelligent mind throughout history. Marcus Aurelius in his Meditations says it a different way when he writes “All is opinion”. It’s the idea that things are neither bad nor good, but thinking makes them so (that’s also from another book, might be Emerson or Aurelius, but I can’t remember).
I find it interesting that humans can logically ratify the above argument in such an easy and straight forward manner, but when it comes to effectually understanding it in the moment of theirs lives, the vast majority of people cannot help but lose sight of this idea’s implications.  The idea is so simple. When you’ve been hit by a truck and are now paralyzed and will never walk or have sex again, it’s very hard to argue with the fact that being sad about this event does not help your situation. You’re paralyzed… ya can’t do shit about it.
And yet it is ever the most difficult for humans to do that logical thing and let go. To make you brain stop thinking about it and focus on the fact that your still breathing (which is better than being in the dirt).

So difficult, so simple.

The only thing that I’ve found that works is meditation.

1 Comment

Filed under All posts, Thoughts, studies and science

One response to “The simplest and most difficult

  1. Reading this entry of your blog came at a good time because this struggle that you’ve described is something that I myself have been wondering about more strongly as of recent due to a critical moment that will be coming up in my life pretty fast. But what is the right choice? Which path will fulfill my future potentially better? Why is it that I’m even worrying about this? Whatever choice I make, logically I should be able to accept that I will be the one making that choice. Once I deduct the pros and cons of both scenarios, eventually I will choose one over the other because one path I will consider to be a more beneficial, a more fulfilling; a more satisfying choice over the other….right? So really, I’ll only have myself to blame if I ever come back and say “I regret” picking path A or path B….right? But then again, if we follow this rule of logic then I can’t feel regretful because logic does not allow for regret to occur. Only the understanding of choice is relevant. Perhaps it’s not exactly the same thing you were talking about, since you referred to the example of a person who becomes paralyzed and then from a standpoint of reason – can make the choice to free themselves of their emotional turmoil by logically choosing to let go. Then again, (and I’m not sure if you were perhaps getting at this too), that the space between logical reason and emotional reason is often paralyzing to us internally and we more often times then not – struggle in accepting that we always have a choice of perspective. Does that make sense? Or have I just confused myself more…? Anyways – thank you for this entry – not because I learnt something or felt something I haven’t emotionally experienced or discussed with people who are close to me already – but because your written elegance made me feel like I was having an “aha!” moment, and it made me feel encouraged. So thank you.

    – KVP 希夢

Leave a Reply

